Gravitational Pull

Destination weddings
aren’t for the entire family
unless there’s a surplus
after the bills are paid
and the 401K’s aren’t suffering—
or unless your hosts
are as generous
as they are ostentatious,
which is hardly ever the case.
And so it was just me
representing my tribe
and you representing yours—
both of us sitting on the beach
behind the groom,
who was our mutual friend
during different years
in different locations
and we both knew him so well
that we agreed in a whisper
it must have been his bride’s idea
to have it here, to ask loved ones
to fly across the world
for a three day celebration
that had a 50% chance
of lasting forever.
And it was hard to say goodbye
on the last night
after the wine and the dancing
and the walk on the beach.
And the little pile of memories
we made was solid enough
for you to stand on
after you walked me to my room
on the fifth floor.
“Tell me to leave,” you said,
in a voice that turned to powder
as it passed between your lips.
And for a moment
I felt a gravitational pull
so disorienting
that I leaned into you
and brushed your cheek with a kiss
before I stepped out of your orbit,
and apologized
that I’d be going to bed tonight
alone.

 

DeMaris Gaunt
4-4-15

 

 

Published by demarisspeaks

I currently live in Nashville, Indiana. I love to listen to music, books on CD, podcasts or NPR as I work in my studio.  My favorite artists are Andrew Wyeth and Edward Hopper. I love poetry, but only the good stuff that isn’t so abstract I can’t understand it. Abstraction better lends itself to visual art, I think. Stephen Dunn is my favorite poet. He’s said just about anything that can be said about the inner workings of the heart and mind. My favorite novel is Atonement by Ian McEwan. My all time favorite band is The Cure. I love science, and anything that relates to how the mind works. I don’t believe in the supernatural. If I could meet anyone in the world, it would be Richard Dawkins or Steven Pinker. If you don’t buy my art or read my poetry, buy one of their books. It will enrich if not change your life.  My favorite things to do are hiking, kayaking and camping. My favorite food is so common, I’ll keep you in suspense (It starts with a P). I prefer chocolate to vanilla. Green is my favorite color. I have an aversion to planning or scheduling of any kind, and I live for spontaneous adventures! Telephone conversations make me anxious, and I avoid them at almost all cost. I had a happy childhood. I’m having a pretty fantastic adulthood. I have every intention of seeing my 100th birthday, after which I will happily relinquish my guts to the future of medicine. Cheers! ~DeMaris

2 thoughts on “Gravitational Pull

Leave a comment