How to Love an Introvert Part II

Don’t make him ask
for space
stand back
way back
wait to be invited in
and never stay too long
or try to expand
his sanctum of solitude
which will only ever
be big enough for one
and occasionally you
might find
that your introvert
seems to be
missing you
in the familiar way
you’re used to missing him
but don’t believe
for a moment
that this means
you will inhabit his future
in any conceivable reality
so be sensitive
to the limits
of your loved one
and never
never expect to mean
as much to him
as he means to you.

 

 

 

 

 

DeMaris
6-19-17

“Baleen” by Andrew Wyeth 1982

 

One thought on “How to Love an Introvert Part II”

  1. You are reading my mind. I take it that your are speaking from your own thoughts. We are so alike. We both love to put color in our lives. I make jewelry and do my stained glass to keep intouch with myself . I wish I had you creativeness and had your ability to come up with ideas. I take pictures of other peoples work,change it somewhat and made one close to it. My mind only is only two dimentional. I love your work. Wish you and I lived closer so I could watch and learn. I would love to have a artist in my life who understands colors and design. I am showing all your poetry to my girl friend that wants to pull my reins in. I love quiet and love my solitude to think and search my mind. I just took a two hour motor cycle ride to think about things and where my life is heading .Thanks. George

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

