Love Lies Bleeding 

My novice eye
thought
the small cluster
of Rue Anemone
was Hepatica
and I was mistaken
again
when I called
the Celandine Poppy
a Marsh Marigold–
but I was sure
the Yellow Trout Lily
was
a Yellow Trout Lily
and I was right
about
the Purple Cress–
and I knew
with certainty
those bulbous
Bleeding Hearts
were full
of emptiness–
but I’m still
not sure
if the botanist
who taught me
how to identify
Snow Trillium 
and Bloodroot 
can see
the similarities
between
Love Lies Bleeding
and the look on my face
when his lesson is over
and our time 
is up.

DeMaris

4-9-17

Leave a Reply

