Unsent Invitation

Hello—
You’re invited to
accompany me for drinks
or a walk or a swim
after the main event
begins to drag into evening.
I promise to act so nonchalant
no one would suspect
I’ve been in love with you
from the moment
I saw your picture
on the dust jacket.
It was all those words
you strung together
that carried me away
and left me stranded inside
an imagination
that persuaded me to think
it might be possible
you would be curious
about a poet
at the writers conference
who looked like me
and could barely speak
without stuttering
when she asked if you wanted
to exit the hotel for a while
to get to know each other
off the page
before returning
to the question mark
of where to sleep
and with who.

 

DeMaris Gaunt
8-18-16

 

Leave a Reply

