Christmas Prayer

Most of the family,
for so long a single minded stem—
blossomed away
from those stubborn roots.

The old man,
that solid patriarch,
and one lonely son
were the only ones left
who felt  a prayer
offered before the meal
was necessary—
would be received.

Having already dropped
those mythical petals of promise,
the rest of us bowed
respectfully—
passive participants
in the familiar ritual,

knowing eternity will not bloom
above the grave
but will continue
beautifully—
as long as we all shall live.

 

DeMaris Gaunt
12-23-12

4 thoughts on “Christmas Prayer”

    1. Hi Jason. Thanks for commenting. After a lot of time spent studying Christianity and other religions (and science!) I’ve come to my own conclusion that this is all there is. This life is our precious ONE.

      I could be wrong, but if I am, and there is a god who exists who would punish me for not believing in him for lack of evidence, then it’s a bully god unworthy of any praise. I’d take my place in hell on principle.

      Like

  1. Thanks for answering my question. You mentioned an alleged lack of evidence, and I invite you to think critically about that claim. Having looked into science and the Bible, I am convinced that Intelligent Design has scientifically proven naturalism/Atheism false. The fine tuning of the universe for intelligent life, the origin of the first life, the bacterial flagellum, the Cambrian explosion, the development of butterflies and the flight of birds are just some of the things I regard as impossible for naturalism to account for.

    Thus it seems to me that you believe in spite of the evidence. Further, coming to God was never about evidence. Consider this statement by the Apostle Paul:

    1 Corinthians 1:17 New American Standard Bible (NASB)

    17 For Christ did not send me to baptize, but to preach the gospel, not in cleverness of speech, so that the cross of Christ would not be made void.

    Consider also this statement by Christ:

    John 3:3-8 New American Standard Bible (NASB)

    3 Jesus answered and said to him, “Truly, truly, I say to you, unless one is born again he cannot see the kingdom of God.”

    4 Nicodemus *said to Him, “How can a man be born when he is old? He cannot enter a second time into his mother’s womb and be born, can he?” 5 Jesus answered, “Truly, truly, I say to you, unless one is born of water and the Spirit he cannot enter into the kingdom of God. 6 That which is born of the flesh is flesh, and that which is born of the Spirit is spirit. 7 Do not be amazed that I said to you, ‘You must be born again.’ 8 The wind blows where it wishes and you hear the sound of it, but do not know where it comes from and where it is going; so is everyone who is born of the Spirit.”

    Coming to God is a spiritual matter. The key understanding to keep in mind is that God seeks those who are worthy of him. It is not his goal to force people to believe in him. So you can persevere and seek the truth, or you can take the issues you raised as an open door to run through to get away from God. The ultimate question is, what do you really want?

    Jeremiah 29:13
    “You will seek Me and find Me when you search for Me with all your heart.”

    Like

  2. Atheism isn’t something that can be proved false. My atheism is simply my lack of a belief in a god.

    Just because you can’t imagine a “fine tuned” world having no creator just means you’re not trying hard enough 🙂 Time is what has created the appearance of fine-tuning. 4.5 billions years goes a long way to allow natural selection to work on organisms.

    Just because we may never know how life began doesn’t mean we must throw up our hands and say “god did it!” Where did god come from? What fine-tuned his idea of a human and an anglerfish?

    I reject the divinity of the bible and refuse to respect it as anything but a very human attempt to make order out of disorder. I’ve read the bible and am very familiar with all of its contradictions and evils. As with anything dreamed up by humans, it’s not without some historical and literary value, but I do not and cannot believe a word of it. It’s morality is disgraceful.

    I appreciate you reaching out to me. I’m sure you are a loving thoughtful fellow human who is trying to do me good. Thank you. I used to believe what you do, so I can relate to your purpose in writing, but I’m very happy that the bible itself, science, inquiry, logic, reason and critical thinking have led to my emancipation from religion.

    Like

Leave a Reply

