Overlapping Magisteria

Here

in the dark lab of my room

glowing with the light of this screen

I can research anything I want

but comprehend only what I am able

which isn’t everything

or even close

and I wonder if I am limited

in some similar way

when I study paintings, sculptures—

which are never as abstract

or twisted as certain words

lined up

ready to confuse

or explain our craving to understand art

as it displays its beauty or its intent

which is lost

when we close our eyes

or try to keep the white from the black

for fear of gray

or the polish from the bronze

that we might be blinded somehow

by what is revealed.

 

 

DeMaris Gaunt

10-7-13

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

