For My Daughter: A Short History of Your Existence

For My Daughter: A Short History of Your Existence 

There she is:

that pretty girl

standing with my boyfriend

at the Cincinnati Zoo,

his arm around her

like no one is watching.

 

A friend showed me

the photograph as proof

that she was beautiful.

I nodded slowly to agree

and noted that she must be

twenty years younger than me,

sun bleached blond

and apple cheeked

in front of the purple tongued

giraffes.

 

She looks like me

but doesn’t know half

of what I know.

She doesn’t have a clue

that I exist

or that he is lying

to her about everything.

 

I’m not jealous

of her youth or her beauty

but of her long list of choices

still to be made.

And if I could spare her the

betrayal that would separate them

before the child

could be conceived

I wouldn’t.

 

 

 

DeMaris Gaunt

8-7-14

 

 

Leave a Reply

