Bad Dream

Bad Dream

You’d think the ceiling was fascinating

the way it held my attention at 4:03 a.m.

 

the half-empty moon casting shadows

on those tiny stalactites at 4:20.

 

No need for a poker face in your absence.

It’s 4:53 and I have two hours left

 

to share my pillow with this nightmare.

The silence outside reminds me at 4:55

 

that you won’t be coming home until Friday.

Hard to believe that when you call in a few hours

 

I’ll say everything is fine.

Even harder to believe it might be true.

 

 

 

DeMaris Gaunt

10-3-06

Leave a Reply

