Location of the Heart

Location of the Heart

You don’t know

(or do you?)

how often I’ve taken advantage

of your existence

and pretended that miles and years

are somehow going to evaporate

into the night

when I walk outside

to watch the moon with you beside me

even though you aren’t here.

 

You’re never here.

 

But here you are

(again)

as dependable as I hope I am to you

when you wake up beside me

in your bed

both of us smiling

but not really present

in the same space at the same time,

just filling in every little gap

and every gaping hole.

 

 

 

DeMaris Gaunt

5-11-13

Leave a Reply

