Why I Miss You

Why I Miss You

I can’t think of you without remembering

how annoyed I was that you interrupted

the most beautiful magnificent

lightning storm I’d ever seen

 

You came to my door twenty years ago

and knocked as hard as the night

then harder until I let you in

just because it was raining

 

You wanted to talk

and I wanted only to be silent

and watch the storm

framed by the picture window above my couch

the electric veins slapping the speechless sky

across its horizontal face

 

There will be other storms

you promised, and that is all you said

which is why I miss you sometimes

because your love wasn’t violent or selfish

 

But it wasn’t exciting enough either

to mean then what it would mean now

to someone who knows what happens

when a storm breaks the window

and lets itself in

 

I couldn’t have guessed then

that in the next twenty years I wouldn’t once

see another lightning storm as beautiful

or magnificent as that one

 

Or that I’d be waiting

in this unexpected future for you

to knock again on the door

and interrupt everything, and I would let you in

even if it wasn’t raining.

 

 

 

DeMaris Gaunt

4-5-10

Leave a Reply

