Driving Too Fast

Driving Too Fast

I like driving

ninety miles an hour

as if there was a need

to travel at the speed of risk.

 

I love when the car

in front of me

gets out of my way,

merges right

because they’re paying attention

and they know how to play this game.

 

But what I really love

Is being the driver

who spots you

coming into focus

like an animated short

inside the TV

of my rear-view.

 

I like to imagine the moment

when you realize

you are at my mercy—

that I am the boundary

of your urgency

and all you need

is for me to recognize your greater purpose

and move over,

which I do.

 

 

 

DeMaris Gaunt

July, 2010

 

Leave a Reply

